Shakib Al Hasan Named Bangladesh Captain Till 2022 T20 World Cup; Asia Cup Squad Announced

Dhaka, Aug 13: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday appointed Shakib Al Hasan as the T20I skipper until the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.Also Read – Aaqib Javed Explains Why Babar Azam And Joe Root Will Not Have Long Rough Patches Like Virat Kohli

The BCB announcement brought an end to the uncertainty of the past couple of weeks, when Shakib was told by the board to choose between playing for Bangladesh or keeping his endorsement with a “betting company”. After the board’s ultimatum, the all-rounder had pulled out of his controversial deal with Betwinner News. Also Read – Asia Cup 2022: Ricky Ponting Predicts Winner Between Arch Rivals India and Pakistan

Nurul Hasan had taken over in T20Is from long-time white-ball captain Mahmudullah for Bangladesh’s previous assignment, in Zimbabwe, before being sidelined by a fractured finger. Also Read – Ricky Ponting Predicts India Will Emerge Winners Against Pakistan in Asia Cup Clash on 28th August

Mosaddek Hossain then captained the team in the last of three T20Is in Zimbabwe, as Bangladesh went down 2-1. After that, Bangladesh had also lost the ODIs that followed in Zimbabwe, under Tamim Iqbal.

The BCB also announced a 17-member squad for the Asia Cup, which will be played in the UAE from August 27. Apart from Shakib, who returns to lead the team, the squad also sees the return of Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Ebadat. Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin. Munim Shahriar, Nazmul Hossain and Shoriful Islam could not make the cut.

Bangladesh missed the initial deadline for naming the squad, while the board sorted out the Shakib sponsorship issue. Bangladesh will be one of six teams contesting the main round of the Asia Cup, along with India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and a qualifier.

The identity of the qualifier will be known via a qualifying tournament that starts on August 20.

Bangladesh’s squad for the Asia Cup: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed.

(With inputs from IANS)

Leave a Comment